HootSuite Saved My Life | Recovering From A Social Media Takeover

Not physically speaking of course but metaphorically. Well if you consider the stress of trying to grow a brand and manage a social media marketing campaign, coupled with the physical effects of stress, maybe it is a literal life saver.

Since the drastic change of direction motivated by the take over of Twitter, TweetDeck has become useless to me. To someone who hasn’t used it or doesn’t have multiple accounts  this may not seem like a big deal.

I host several blogs, social media pages, groups, microblogs, and profiles. In spite of those great outlets, I have a life and cannot spend all day online updating, engaging and responding. Within the last year I’ve expanded my outreach platforms because of modern technology and the ability to connect with people their preferred way, without getting bogged down with visiting a bunch of sites.

HootSuite saved my life!

HootSuite allows you to manage five accounts without upgrading to a paid subscription. The monthly fee is under six bucks and they are offering a free 30 day trial right now.  If you liked TweetDeck, or Seesmic you will love HootSuite. But in addition to the features offered by most, you can also time your tweets, get statistics, and post to groups. The mobile app for Android is great; although I wish there was a widget for quick viewing.  There is also a Chrome app and all of your views sync together when you create a HootSuite password. I have completely been converted to a HootSuite believer; in both free and paid accounts.

13 thoughts on “HootSuite Saved My Life | Recovering From A Social Media Takeover

    • Yes Saul, the streams within the columns are awesome. I know have a separate column for each account and then streams open for relevant lists, groups, pages, etc. I have WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, Flikr, GetSatisfaction and most important to me was FB groups. The only thing missing is FB inbox messages… and an Android app widget. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your comments. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Thanks for sharing your thought. HootSuite is one of my favorite app to manage my social networks. It improves my efficiency and reduces my stress.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome Nicolas. I appreciate you taking the time to read, share and comment. HootSuite has definitely moved up the list from an app I was aware of and tried a few times to my favorite and most important application. As I get more in to it gets better; beyond picking up where TweetDeck left off. HootSuite does does things that TweetDeck did not, has better features and interface.

      Have a great week.

      Reply
  2. I definitely need a social media secretary. Hootsuite sounds good to me. In fact I think I just turned it back on now that I ‘get’ the value of twitter and want to keep up during the day. It was suggested I tweet 10 times a day. Not bad. Easier than facebook, LinkedIn and any other social media platform. Thanks and I agree, it can be a life saver!

    Reply
    • Wow Alison, 10 times a day. That’s a great challenge to aspire to. I can’t say I am even close. Maybe 5-7 on average. Tweeting more often certainly helps to drive traffic and promote your message or cause. Hopefully you have or will set up now your Facebook Page (not personal profile) posts to pour into your Twitter account; and your Twitter account into your LinkedIn status. This way you can post once in HootSuite or select only to post to Twitter not your Facebook Page.

      Thanks for stopping by and your comments. Enjoy!

      Reply
      • Oh Alison, great question. Let’s see if I can explain it simply. If you go to LinkedIn settings you will be able to set up your Twitter feed. Here is the help link: https://help.linkedin.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2755

        Then if you go to your Twitter account you can sync to Facebook. But you must be sure that you select page and not just hit submit on the personal profile. You will also need to login on Facebook as your page and set up your Twitter application to feed to FB. Here is the link: https://apps.facebook.com/twitter

        There is also an app in Chrome called Publish Sync that adds pop ups on LinkedIn, Google+, Facebook and Twitter so that when you are posting you have the option to add to other sites that are not connected. Here is the link: http://socialba.com/publishsync/main?lh=en-us

        I find that I have to use a combination of these solutions and HootSuite to save myself time and post relevant content across multiple sites. It’s not always perfect or exactly as convenient as I’d like but with multiple solutions you can save yourself a lot of time no matter where you are posting from.

Leave a Reply

